Athletes converge in Ottawa for inaugural ringette all-star game

 Ottawa, Ontario – February 13, 2013 – Ringette Canada and the National Ringette League today announced it will host an all-star game next weekend in Ottawa. The game, which is the first of its kind, will have representation from all 16 teams in the National Ringette League and will be held in conjunction with the first selection camp for Ringette Canada’s senior national team. The game will take place on Saturday, February 16th at 3:00 pm EST at Brian Kilrea Arena (2185 Arch Street).

There will be two teams – Team White and Team Blue – and they are being coached by NRL coaches from the top four teams in the league, based on standings at the end of December. Team White will be coached by Cliff Wurtak from Prairie Fire (2nd place Western) and Dan Dussault from Montreal Mission (1st place Eastern) along with guest coach Dave Mainwood from Gloucester Devils. Team Blue will be coached by Chris Wakefield from BC Thunder (1st place Western) and due to the fact that Cambridge Turbos (2nd place Eastern) head coach Glen Gaudet is the head coach of the senior national team, George Harvey from Gatineau Fusion will be a guest coach with Team Blue.

“It is a great honor to be asked to participate in the first NRL all-star game as a coach,” said Cliff Wurtak, head coach, Prairie Fire. “These talented young ladies are a very elite group of athletes playing the game they love to play. This all-star game is a great opportunity to showcase the skilled players that the NRL has to offer.”

The following are the athletes who will be participating in the all-star game:

Team White
Colleen Hagan – Gloucester Devils
Jasmine LeBlanc – Gloucester Devils
Catherine Cartier – Montreal Mission
Julie Primard – Montreal Mission
Stéphanie Séguin – Montreal Mission
Lindsay Burns – Prairie Fire
Amy Clarkson – Prairie Fire
Andrea Ferguson – Prairie Fire
Kristy Maksymyk – Prairie Fire
Mandy Nordstrom – Prairie Fire
Bobbi Mattson – Calgary RATH
Victoria Russell – Calgary RATH
Christianne Varty – Calgary RATH
Lianne Davies – Richmond Hill Lightning
Christine Langford – Richmond Hill Lightning
Audrey-Anne Plante – Rive Sud Revolution
Bryanna Kelly – Waterloo Wildfire
Alexandra Lacharite – Le Royal de Bourassa

Team Blue
Kacy Hannesson – BC Thunder
Melanie Thomas – BC Thunder
Jennifer Wakefield – BC Thunder
Tiina Mononen – BC Thunder
Salla Kyhala – BC Thunder
Emily Bakker – Cambridge Turbos
Jacqueline Gaudet – Cambridge Turbos
Sydney Granger – Cambridge Turbos
Meghan Pittaway – Cambridge Turbos
Tori Goble – Ottawa Ice
Carrie Lugg – Ottawa Ice
Jenna McBride – Ottawa Ice
Jayme Simzer – Ottawa Ice
Chantal St-Laurent – Quebec City Cyclones
Jennifer Hartley – Edmonton WAM!
Emilie Lavergne – Gatineau Fusion
Cortney Keeble – Lac St. Louis Adrenaline
Martine Caissie – Atlantic Attack

“It’s an honour to be selected to play in the inaugural all-star game that will bring together some of the best ringette players in the world and showcase the best of the National Ringette League.” said Jennifer Wakefield, BC Thunder. “It’s also exciting to be competing for a spot on the senior National Team at the same time, which should make this game more competitive than all-star games in other leagues because there is so much on the line when we hit the ice.”

Delta Ottawa is the official accommodation partner for the all-star game.