Cambridge Turbos hold onto top spot in Elite Eight rankings, claim bye to championship

Ottawa, Ontario – February 4, 2015 – The Cambridge Turbos have had an impressive season – they are undefeated in regulation play and have only suffered two shootout losses this year. After this past weekend’s games, the Turbos, who still have five games left to play, stand firmly on top of the red division standings and earn themselves a bye to the National Ringette League (NRL) championship. They also hold onto the top spot in the league’s Elite Eight rankings this month. Edmonton WAM! have also clinched a spot at the championship as the top team in the Western Conference.

With the exception of the top two spots, this month’s Elite Eight rankings sees a bit of movement as teams are winding down with only four weekends left of regular season play. The Turbos (1) played five games this past month, suffering one shootout loss to Edmonton WAM! to hold onto the top spot, while Ottawa Ice (2) remain in second after winning four and dropping three of their seven games this past month. WAM! (3), who have finished up regular season play, picked up seven wins and posted two losses to move up to third spot from fifth last month. 

Richmond Hill Lightning (4) fall one spot since last month, winning two and losing one. Gloucester Devils (5) went undefeated in their last five games to move up one spot to fifth this month. Montreal Mission (6) drop two spots to sixth after posting four wins and one loss. Calgary RATH (7) move up one spot after winning two and losing three this past month. Previously unranked Le Royal de Bourassa (8) break into the rankings in eighth spot after splitting their six games this past month. Previously ranked Waterloo Wildfire fall out of the rankings this month.

National Ringette League Elite Eight as of February 4, 2015:
Rank – (Ranking last month) – Team name – Conference
1 – (1) – Cambridge Turbos – Eastern
2 – (2) – Ottawa Ice – Eastern
3 – (5) – Edmonton WAM! – Western
4 – (3) – Richmond Hill Lightning – Eastern
5 – (6) – Gloucester Devils – Eastern
6 – (4) – Montreal Mission – Eastern
7 – (8) – Calgary RATH – Western
8 – (-) – Le Royal de Bourassa

The 2015 NRL Championship will see eight teams compete for the championship title. Six teams will compete from the Eastern Conference – the top teams in the Red and White Eastern divisions will automatically advance to the championship and will be joined by the four teams that qualify during playoffs on March 7-8. The top two teams from the Western Conference will also compete in the championship. Ottawa Ice currently hold the NRL Championship title after downing the Cambridge Turbos 7-4 at the 2014 NRL Championship tournament final held in April 2014 in Regina, Saskatchewan. This year’s NRL Championship tournament will be held in Wood Buffalo, AB from March 29 to April 4, 2015.

A full schedule of games, as well as results, stats and player profiles can be viewed on the NRL website at

About the National Ringette League
The National Ringette League (NRL) is the showcase league for ringette in Canada and strives to be the premiere women’s sports league in the country. The league has 14 teams participating in two conferences – a Western Conference with three teams and an Eastern Conference with 11 teams. The objectives of the NRL are to move ringette into the mainstream of Canadian sports activity, encourage greater public awareness of ringette, create more and better competitive opportunities for athletes, and achieve positive financial results at both a league and team level. For more information on the NRL, including schedules, team rosters and athlete profiles, please visit our website at


For more information, please contact:
Alayne Martell
Media and PR – Ringette Canada/National Ringette League
Office: 613-748-5655, ext. 226
Cell: 902-308-1067