Cambridge Turbos maintain top spot in Elite Eight rankings

Ottawa, Ontario – December 4, 2013 – The Cambridge Turbos maintain their first place ranking in this month’s National Ringette League (NRL) Elite Eight. With eight weeks of competition down, teams continue to battle it out for a spot at the NRL Championship tournament that will be held in Regina, Saskatchewan from April 7-12, 2014.

Cambridge (1) went undefeated in their last five games, including a sweep of the four games played during their Western road trip which matched them up against Edmonton WAM! and Calgary RATH (3). Montreal Mission (2) moved up one spot to second after wining four and dropping one to the Gloucester Devils (7). Calgary drops one spot to third this month after bouncing back from a two-game loss to Cambridge and picking up four wins last weekend when they travelled to Ontario to meet Richmond Hill Lightning (5) and Waterloo Wildfire.

Ottawa Ice (4) maintain their fourth place ranking after downing Rive Sud Revolution, but suffering loses to Montreal and Lac St. Louis Adrenaline. Richmond Hill creep up one spot to fifth this month after the Lighting won three of their last five games. Gatineau Fusion (6) also move up one spot, going undefeated in their last two games.

Gloucester breaks into the rankings at seventh this month, after capturing three victories, including a big win over Montreal. Le Royal de Bourassa (8) slide three spots to last place in the rankings after losing four of their last five games. Previously ranked Waterloo Wildfire drop from the rankings after losing their last four games.

National Ringette League Elite Eight as of December 4, 2013:
Rank – Rank last month – Team name – Conference
1 – (1) – Cambridge Turbos – Eastern
2 – (3) – Montreal Mission – Eastern
3 – (2) – Calgary RATH – Western
4 – (4) – Ottawa Ice – Eastern
5 – (6) – Richmond Hill Lightning – Eastern
6 – (7) – Gatineau Fusion – Eastern
7 – (–) – Gloucester Devils – Eastern
8 – (5) – Le Royal de Bourassa – Eastern

The 2014 NRL Championship will see six teams from the East and two teams from the West compete. Both Western teams automatically qualify and Eastern teams will be determined through playoffs. Calgary RATH currently hold the NRL Championship title after downing Prairie Fire 6-5 in overtime at the 2013 NRL Championship tournament held in April 2013 in Fredericton, NB.