Cambridge Turbos remain on top of Elite Eight rankings

Ottawa, Ontario – January 6, 2015 The Cambridge Turbos continue their winning streak and remain on top of the National Ringette League’s (NRL) Elite Eight rankings again this month. The Turbos, who have gone undefeated in their last five games, have only suffered one shootout loss in their 18 games so far this season.

Ottawa Ice (2) move up one spot to second after winning five and suffering one loss to Cambridge this past month. Richmond Hill Lightning (3) move up one spot to third after splitting their last four games. Montreal Mission (4) drop two spots to fourth after posting two wins and three losses. Edmonton WAM! (5) maintain their fifth place ranking after splitting their two games with Calgary RATH (8), who also maintain their ranking from last month, in eighth place. Gloucester Devils (6) move up one spot this month after splitting their last six games, while Waterloo Wildfire (7) drop one spot after winning one and losing three this past month.

National Ringette League Elite Eight as of January 6, 2015:
Rank – (Ranking last month) – Team name – Conference
1 – (1) – Cambridge Turbos – Eastern
2 – (3) – Ottawa Ice – Eastern
3 – (4) – Richmond Hill Lightning – Eastern
4 – (2) – Montreal Mission – Eastern
5 – (5) – Edmonton WAM! – Western
6 – (7) – Gloucester Devils – Eastern
7 – (6) – Waterloo Wildfire – Eastern
8 – (8) – Calgary RATH – Western

The 2015 NRL Championship will see eight teams compete for the championship title. Six teams will compete from the Eastern Conference – the top teams in the Red and White Eastern divisions will automatically advance to the championship and will be joined by the four teams that qualify during playoffs on March 7-8. The top two teams from the Western Conference will also compete in the championship. Ottawa Ice currently hold the NRL Championship title after downing the Cambridge Turbos 7-4 at the 2014 NRL Championship tournament final held in April 2014 in Regina, Saskatchewan. This year’s NRL Championship tournament will be held in Wood Buffalo, AB from March 29 to April 4, 2015.

A full schedule of games, as well as results, stats and player profiles can be viewed on the NRL website at

About the National Ringette League
The National Ringette League (NRL) is the showcase league for ringette in Canada and strives to be the premiere women’s sports league in the country. The league has 14 teams participating in two conferences – a Western Conference with three teams and an Eastern Conference with 11 teams. The objectives of the NRL are to move ringette into the mainstream of Canadian sports activity, encourage greater public awareness of ringette, create more and better competitive opportunities for athletes, and achieve positive financial results at both a league and team level. For more information on the NRL, including schedules, team rosters and athlete profiles, please visit our website at


For more information, please contact:
Alayne Martell
Media and PR – Ringette Canada/National Ringette League
Office: 613-748-5655, ext. 226
Cell: 902-308-1067