National Ringette League announces annual award finalists

March 19, 2008 – The National Ringette League (NRL) today announced the finalists for its annual awards program. The awards program recognizes the performance of NRL athletes during regular season play with trophies for Most Valuable Player, Best Forward/Centre, Best Defenseman, Best Goaltender and Rookie of the Year. These awards, along with awards for Coach of the Year, Scoring Champion and Powertek Goal Scoring Title, will be announced during the inaugural NRL Championship tournament being held in St. Albert, Alberta from April 1-5, 2008. The finalists represent one athlete/coach from each conference and the national winners will be declared from among these conference finalists.

“Our annual award finalists have had a tremendous season and we are proud to be able to recognize their performance in this way,” said George McKenzie, chairman, National Ringette League. “I wish each of the finalists the best of luck and congratulate them on standing out as leaders in our league.”

Finalists for the NRL awards include the following athletes and coaches:

Most Valuable Player

Jennifer Wakefield – Cambridge Turbos

Megan Todd – Edmonton WAM!

Best Centre/Forward

Jennifer Wakefield – Cambridge Turbos

Megan Todd – Edmonton WAM!

Best Defenseman

Kassy Chhim – Montreal Mission

Abbey Hoes – Calgary RATH

Best Goaltender

Julie Fleury-Roy – Cyclones de Quebec

Keely Brown – Edmonton WAM!

Rookie of the Year

Meghan Pittaway – Cambridge Turbos

Jennifer Hartley – Edmonton Edge

Coach of the Year

Claude Carriere – Gloucester Devils

Brian Timmerman – Manitoba Jets