National Ringette League announces annual award finalists

April 6, 2010 – The National Ringette League (NRL) today announced the finalists for its annual awards program. The awards program recognizes the performance of NRL athletes during regular season play with trophies for Most Valuable Player, Best Forward/Centre, Best Defenseman, Best Goaltender and Rookie of the Year. These awards, along with awards for Coach of the Year, Executive/Volunteer of the Year, Scoring Champion and Powertek Goal Scoring Title, will be announced during the NRL Championship tournament awards ceremony being held on April 10, 2010 in Saskatoon, SK. The NRL Championship tournament is part of the 2010 Canadian Ringette Championships. The finalists represent one athlete/coach/volunteer from each conference and the national winners will be declared from among these conference finalists.

“While it is always a tough job narrowing down the candidates for our National Ringette League annual awards, I feel that the candidates we have selected are excellent and well deserving choices,” said George McKenzie, chairman, National Ringette League. “I would like to congratulate each of our finalists and commend them on their dedication and commitment to our league over the past season.”

Finalists for the NRL awards include the following:

Most Valuable Player
Jacqueline Gaudet – Cambridge Turbos
Salla Kyhala – Saskatoon Wild

Best Centre/Forward
Julie Blanchette – Montreal Mission
Victoria Russell – Calgary RATH

Best Defenseman
Caitlyn Hellingman – Ottawa Ice
Lindsay Burns – Prairie Fire

Best Goaltender
Julie Fleury-Roy – Cyclones de Quebec
Keely Brown – Edmonton WAM!

Rookie of the Year
Marilyne Bedard – Rive Sud Revolution
Morgan Jones – Prairie Fire

Coach of the Year
Glen Gaudet – Cambridge Turbos
Dwayne Andreen – Saskatoon Wild

Executive/Volunteer of the Year
Gerry Kraemer – Waterloo Wildfire
Noel Cronin – Calgary RATH