National Ringette League announces annual award finalists

March 29, 2011 – The National Ringette League (NRL) today announced the finalists for its annual awards program. The awards program recognizes the performance of NRL athletes during regular season play with trophies for Most Valuable Player, Best Forward/Centre, Best Defenseman, Best Goaltender and Rookie of the Year. These awards, along with awards for Coach of the Year, Scoring Champion and Goal Scoring Title, will be announced during the NRL Championship tournament awards ceremony being held on April 2, 2011 in Cambridge, ON. The NRL Championship tournament is part of the 2011 Tim Hortons Canadian ringette championships. The finalists represent one athlete/coach from each conference and the national winners will be declared from among these conference finalists.

“Our annual award finalists have had a tremendous season and we are proud to be able to recognize their performance in this way,” said George McKenzie, chairman, National Ringette League. “I wish each of the finalists the best of luck and congratulate them on standing out as leaders in our league.”

Finalists for the NRL awards include the following:

Most Valuable Player
Beth Hurren, Richmond Hill Lightning
Jennifer Hartley, Edmonton WAM!

Best Centre/Forward
Jackie Gaudet, Cambridge Turbos
Jennifer Hartley, Edmonton WAM!

Best Defenseman
Marie-Eve Laflamme – Cyclones de Quebec
Lindsay Burns – Prairie Fire

Best Goaltender
Meghan Pittaway – Cambridge Turbos
Keely Brown – Edmonton WAM!

Rookie of the Year
Brianna Thompson – Waterloo Wildfire
Dani Holliday – Edmonton WAM!

Coach of the Year
Ed Stepniak – Whitby Wild
Dwayne Andreen – Saskatoon Wild