National Ringette League announces annual award finalists

 April 10, 2012 – The National Ringette League (NRL) today announced the finalists for its annual awards program. The awards program recognizes the performance of NRL athletes during regular season play with trophies for Most Valuable Player, Best Forward/Centre, Best Defenseman, Best Goaltender and Rookie of the Year. These awards, along with awards for Coach of the Year, Volunteer of the Year, Scoring Champion and Goal Scoring Title, will be announced during the NRL Championship tournament awards ceremony being held on April 14, 2012 in Burnaby, BC. The NRL Championship tournament is part of the 2012 Tim Hortons Canadian ringette championships. The finalists represent one athlete/coach from each conference and the national winners will be declared from among these conference finalists.

“As our league grows and gets stronger, the selection of our annual award finalists gets more difficult,” said Maurice Jean, chairman, National Ringette League. “I would like to congratulate each of the award finalists – they are all great athletes who have had a positive impact on their team’s performance this season and they all represent their conference very well.”

Finalists for the NRL awards include the following:

Most Valuable Player
Julie Blanchette, Montreal Mission
Salla Kyhala, Lower Mainland Ringette League Thunder

Best Centre/Forward
Jackie Gaudet, Cambridge Turbos
Salla Kyhala, Lower Mainland Ringette League Thunder

Best Defenseman
Beth Hurren, Richmond Hill Lightning
Lindsay Burns, Prairie Fire

Best Goaltender
Tori Goble, Ottawa Ice
Deejai Mountford, Saskatoon Wild

Rookie of the Year
Martine Caissie, Atlantic Attack
Amelia Hradsky, Calgary RATH

Coach of the Year
Keith Jasper, Richmond Hill Lightning
Rick Montsion, Prairie Fire