National Ringette League announces annual award nominees

March 19, 2013 – The National Ringette League (NRL) today announced the nominees for its annual awards program. The awards program recognizes the performance of NRL athletes during regular season play with trophies for Most Valuable Player, Top Forward, Top Centre, Top Defense, Top Goalkeeper, and Rookie of the Year. These awards, along with awards for Coach of the Year, Scoring Champion and Goal Scoring Title, and Franchise of the Year, will be announced during the NRL Championship tournament awards ceremony being held on April 6, 2013 in Fredericton, NB. The NRL Championship tournament is part of the 2013 Tim Hortons Canadian ringette championships. There are three nominees for each award, with the exception of the Top Goalkeeper category, which has four nominees. At least one athlete/coach from each conference is represented in each award category.

“Our 2012-2013 season has been extremely competitive and we have witnessed some of the best ringette this country has to offer,” said Maurice Jean, chairman, National Ringette League. “Our league is what it is because of the strength and dedication of our athletes and coaches. I would like to congratulate each of our award nominees and thank them for their continued commitment to our league.”

Nominees for the NRL awards include the following:

Most Valuable Player (the player judged to be the most valuable to her team)
Jacqueline Gaudet – Cambridge Turbos
Salla Kyhala – BC Thunder
Audrey-Anne Plante – Rive Sud Revolution

Top Centre (the most outstanding player that played predominantly the centre position)
Emily Bakker – Cambridge Turbos
Julie Blanchette – Montreal Mission
Jennifer Wakefield – BC Thunder

Top Forward (the most outstanding player that played predominantly forward position)
Allison Beiwald – Gloucester Devils
Chantal St-Laurent – Quebec City Cyclones
Andrea Ferguson – Prairie Fire

Top Defense (the most outstanding player that played predominantly the defense position)
Beth Hurren – Richmond Hill Lightning
Lindsay Burns – Prairie Fire
Colleen Hagan – Gloucester Devils

Top Goalkeeper (the most outstanding goalkeeper)
Tori Goble – Ottawa Ice
Jasmine Leblanc – Gloucester Devils
Amy Clarkson – Prairie Fire
Meghan Pittaway – Cambridge Turbos

Rookie of the Year (the most outstanding player in her first year of NRL competition)
Jennifer Gabel – Gloucester Devils
Shaundra Bruvall – Calgary RATH
Tiina Mononen – BC Thunder

Coach of the Year (the most outstanding coach of the year)
Dave Mainwood, Head Coach, Gloucester Devils
Keely Brown and Kari Sadoway, Head Coaches, Edmonton WAM!
Glen Gaudet, Head Coach, Cambridge Turbos

About the National Ringette League
The National Ringette League (NRL) is the showcase league for ringette in Canada and strives to be the premiere women’s sports league in the country. The league has 16 teams participating in two conferences – a Western Conference with four teams and an Eastern Conference with 12 teams. The objectives of the NRL are to move ringette into the mainstream of Canadian sports activity, encourage greater public awareness of ringette, create more and better competitive opportunities for athletes, and achieve positive financial results at both a league and team level. For more information on the NRL, including schedules, team rosters and athlete profiles, please visit our website at


For more information, please contact:
Alayne Martell
Media and PR – Ringette Canada/National Ringette League
Office: 613-748-5655, ext. 226
Cell: 902-308-1067