National Ringette League announces annual award nominees

March 30, 2015 – The National Ringette League (NRL) today announced the nominees for its annual awards program. The awards program recognizes the performance of NRL athletes during regular season play with trophies for Most Valuable Player, Top Forward, Top Centre, Top Defense, Top Goalkeeper, and Rookie of the Year. These awards, along with awards for Coaching Staff of the Year, NRL Top Scorer and NRL Scoring Champion will be announced during the NRL Championship tournament awards ceremony being held on April 4, 2015 in Wood Buffalo, Alberta. The NRL Championship tournament is part of the 2015 Tim Hortons Canadian ringette championships.

Nominees for the NRL awards include the following:

Most Valuable Player (the player judged to be the most valuable to her team)
Chantal St-Laurent – Gatineau Fusion
Dailyn Bell – Edmonton WAM!
Katie Lugg – Ottawa Ice
Julie Blanchette – Montreal Mission

Top Centre (the most outstanding player that played predominantly the centre position)
Jennifer Hartley – Ottawa Ice
Julie Blanchette – Montreal Mission
Shaundra Bruvall – Calgary RATH
Emily Bakker – Waterloo Wildfire

Top Forward (the most outstanding player that played predominantly forward position)
Jacqueline Gaudet – Cambridge Turbos
Jamie Bell – Edmonton WAM!
Chantal St-Laurent – Gatineau Fusion
Jayme Simzer – Ottawa Ice

Top Defense (the most outstanding player that played predominantly the defense position)
Beth Hurren – Richmond Hill Lightning
Carolina Romeo – Calgary RATH
Kacy Hannesson – BC Thunder
Sarah Bernard-Lacaille – Lac St. Louis Adrenaline

Top Goalkeeper (the most outstanding goalkeeper)
Amy Clarkson – BC Thunder
Meghan Pittaway – Cambridge Turbos
Breanna Beck – Edmonton WAM!
Jasmine LeBlanc – Gloucester Devils

Rookie of the Year (the most outstanding player in her first year of NRL competition)
Audrey Vachon – Rive Sud Revolution
Nina Tajbakhsh – BC Thunder
Karli O’Brien – Gatineau Fusion
Sarah-Lynne Begin – Ottawa ce

Coaching Staff of the Year (the most outstanding coaching staff group of the year, this award is voted on by the teams)
Atlantic Attack
Richmond Hill Lightning
Cambridge Turbos
Lac St. Louis Adrenaline

2015 has been proclaimed the ‘Year of Sport’ in Canada, which aims to celebrate the role that sport plays in our Canadian identity. Ringette Canada fully supports this proclamation and encourages all Canadians to celebrate sport in their communities.

About the National Ringette League
The National Ringette League (NRL) is the showcase league for ringette in Canada and strives to be the premiere women’s sports league in the country. The league has 14 teams participating in two conferences – a Western Conference with three teams and an Eastern Conference with 11 teams. The objectives of the NRL are to move ringette into the mainstream of Canadian sports activity, encourage greater public awareness of ringette, create more and better competitive opportunities for athletes, and achieve positive financial results at both a league and team level. For more information on the NRL, including schedules, team rosters and athlete profiles, please visit our website at


For more information, please contact:
Alayne Martell
Media and PR – Ringette Canada/National Ringette League
Office: 613-748-5655, ext. 226
Cell: 902-308-1067