National Ringette League announces annual award nominees

LONDON, ONTARIO – April 4, 2016 – The National Ringette League (NRL) today announced the nominees for its annual awards program. The awards program recognizes the performance of NRL athletes during regular season play with trophies for Most Valuable Player, Top Forward, Top Centre, Top Defense, Top Goalkeeper, and Rookie of the Year. These awards, along with awards for Coaching Staff of the Year, NRL Top Scorer and NRL Scoring Champion will be announced during the NRL Championship tournament awards ceremony being held on April 9, 2016 in London, Ontario. The NRL Championship tournament is part of the 2016 Canadian Ringette Championships.

Nominees for the NRL awards include the following:

Most Valuable Player (the player judged to be the most valuable to her team)
Jamie Bell – Edmonton WAM!
Jaqueline Gaudet – Cambridge Turbos
Julie Blanchette – Montreal Mission
Martine Cassie – Atlantic Attack
Brandi Moleshi – BC Thunder

Top Centre (the most outstanding player that played predominantly the centre position)
Dailyn Bell – Edmonton WAM!
Shaundra Bruvall – Calgary RATH
Julie Blanchette – Montreal Mission
Jacqueline Gaudet – Cambridge Turbos

Top Forward (the most outstanding player that played predominantly forward position)
Martine Cassie – Atlantic Attack
Jayme Simzer – Ottawa Ice
Dani Holliday – Edmonton WAM!
Danielle Pronovost – Edmonton Black Gold Rush

Top Defense (the most outstanding player that played predominantly the defense position)
Christianne Varty – Calgary RATH
Sydney Granger – Cambridge Turbos
Lindsey Brown – Edmonton WAM!
Chantal Gauthier – Richmond Hill Lightning

Top Goalkeeper (the most outstanding goalkeeper)
Amy Clarkson – BC Thunder
Jasmine Leblanc – Gloucester Devils
Breanna Beck – Edmonton WAM!
Bobbi Mattson – Calgary RATH

Rookie of the Year (the most outstanding player in her first year of NRL competition)
Danielle Pronovost – Edmonton Black Gold Rush
Justine Lapointe – Rive Sud Revolution
Sydney Nosal – Cambridge Turbos
Annie Debaji – Edmonton WAM!

Coaching Staff of the Year (the most outstanding coaching staff group of the year, this award is voted on by the teams)
Atlantic Attack
Calgary RATH
Cambridge Turbos
Edmonton WAM!

About the National Ringette League

The National Ringette League (NRL) is the showcase league for ringette in Canada and strives to be the premiere women’s sports league in the country. The league has 15 teams participating in two conferences – a Western Conference with four teams and an Eastern Conference with 11 teams. The objectives of the NRL are to move ringette into the mainstream of Canadian sports activity, encourage greater public awareness of ringette, create more and better competitive opportunities for athletes, and achieve positive financial results at both a league and team level. For more information on the NRL, including schedules, team rosters and athlete profiles, please visit our website at


For more information, please contact:
Alayne Martell
Media and PR – Ringette Canada/National Ringette League
Office: 613-748-5655, ext. 226
Cell: 902-308-1067