National Ringette League announces annual award winners

April 11, 2009 – The National Ringette League (NRL) today presented its annual awards, which recognize the performance of NRL athletes during regular season play. The awards were presented at the closing ceremony of the 2009 Canadian ringette championships, which have been taking place in Charlottetown, PEI.

Trophies were presented to Salla Kyhala of the Saskatoon Wild for Most Valuable Player, Julie Blanchette of the Montreal Mission for Best Forward/Centre, Allison Cronin of the Calgary RATH for Best Defenseman, Meghan Pittaway of the Cambridge Turbosfor Best Goaltender and Jessica Pepper of BLL for Rookie of the Year. Saskatoon Wild head coach Sheryl Bird picked up the Coach of the Year award and Yvon Brault with Gatineau Fusion won Executive/Volunteer of the Year. Sharolyn Wouters of the Cambridge Turbos was the NRL Scoring Champion and also picked up the Powertek Goal Scoring Title. Wouters scored 98 goals and 57 assists for a total of 155 points in the regular season to capture both awards.