National Ringette League announces annual award winners

April 10, 2010 – The National Ringette League (NRL) today presented its annual awards, which recognize the performance of NRL athletes during regular season play. The awards were presented at the closing ceremony of the 2010 Canadian ringette championships, which have been taking place in Saskatoon, SK.

Trophies were presented to Jacqueline Gaudet of the Cambridge Turbos for Most Valuable Player, Victoria Russell of Calgary RATH for Best Forward/Centre, Lindsay Burns of Prairie Fire for Best Defenseman, Julie Fleury-Roy of the Cyclones de Quebec for Best Goaltender and Marilyne Bedard of Rive Sud Revolution for Rookie of the Year. Cambridge Turbos head coach Glen Gaudet picked up the Coach of the Year award and Noel Cronin with Calgary RATH won Executive/Volunteer of the Year. Catherine Cartier of the Montreal Mission was the NRL Scoring Champion and also picked up the Powertek Goal Scoring Title. Cartier scored 77 goals and 45 assists for a total of 122 points in the regular season to capture both awards.

“The athletes and volunteers who have been named as our National Ringette League annual award winners have done an excellent job representing our league and the high caliber of play that is evident at this level,” said George McKenzie, chairman, National Ringette League. “Congratulations to each winner and thank you for your continued commitment to our sport and this league.”