National Ringette League announces annual award winners

April 14, 2012 – The National Ringette League (NRL) today presented its annual awards, which recognize the performance of NRL athletes during regular season play. The awards were presented at the closing ceremony of the 2012 Canadian ringette championships, which have been taking place in Burnaby, British Columbia.

Trophies were presented to Salla Kyhala of the Lower Mainland Ringette League Thunder for Most Valuable Player, Jackie Gaudet of Cambridge Turbos for Best Forward/Centre, Beth Hurren of Richmond Hill Lightning for Best Defenseman, Tori Goble of the Ottawa Ice for Best Goaltender and Amelia Hradsky of Calgary RATH for Rookie of the Year. Prairie Fire head coach Rick Montsion picked up the Coach of the Year award. Salla Kyhala of the Lower Mainland Ringette League Thunder was the NRL Scoring Champion with 69 goals and 51 assists for a total of 120 points. Kyhala also picked up the Goal Scoring Title with 69 goals in regular season play. The award for Volunteer of the Year, which is chosen by the league, was presented to the volunteers who worked to make the inaugural season of the Atlantic Attack an overwhelming success. These volunteers include: Helene Beaulieu, Jean Cormier, Marc King, Julien Leger, Kathryn Pringle, Gilles Proulx, Krystle Hussey, Leonel Leblanc, Antione Maillet and Denis King.

“It is a pleasure to announce the winners of our annual awards. These athletes and coaches are a good representation of what an elite league can achieve,” said Maurice Jean, chairman, National Ringette League. “For the first time in the history of the league, we are very pleased to present the Volunteer of the Year award to a group of individuals. The volunteers who have worked with the Atlantic Attack have done an outstanding job and have helped increase the professionalism of the National Ringette League.”