National Ringette League announces Elite Eight rankings

Ottawa, Ontario – November 6, 2013 – The tenth season of the National Ringette League (NRL) is well underway and today the league announces its Elite Eight, with the Cambridge Turbos topping the rankings.

Cambridge (1) opened the season strong with seven consecutive wins, however they dropped one when they met the third place ranked team, Montreal Mission (3) for the second time on November 3rd. Montreal currently stands at four wins and one loss. Second ranked Calgary RATH (2) have picked up two wins so far this season and will meet the top ranked Turbos later this month when the Eastern leaders head to Edmonton for a match-up against the Western Conference teams.

Fourth place Ottawa Ice (4) have also opened their season strong, picking up five wins and dropping one in a shootout to Edmonton WAM!. Le Royal de Bourassa (5) rank fifth this month after posting four wins and two losses, while Richmond Hill Lightning (6) come in at sixth with one win and two losses. Gatineau Fusion (7) picked up three wins and two losses to land in seventh and Waterloo Wildfire (8) round out the Elite Eight after splitting their first four games of the season.

National Ringette League Elite Eight as of November 6, 2013:
Rank – Team name – Conference
1 – Cambridge Turbos – Eastern
2 – Calgary RATH – Western
3 – Montreal Mission – Eastern
4 – Ottawa Ice – Eastern
5 – Le Royal de Bourassa – Eastern
6 – Richmond Hill Lightning – Eastern
7 – Gatineau Fusion – Eastern
8 – Waterloo Wildfire – Eastern

The 2014 NRL Championship will take place from April 7-12, 2014 in Regina, Saskatchewan and will see six teams from the East and two teams from the West compete. Both Western teams automatically qualify and Eastern teams will be determined through playoffs. Calgary RATH currently hold the NRL Championship title after downing Prairie Fire 6-5 in overtime at the 2013 NRL Championship tournament held in April 2013 in Fredericton, NB.