National Ringette League season gets underway on Saturday

Ottawa, Ontario – October 11, 2012 – The 2012-2013 season of the National Ringette League (NRL) will hit the ice this coming weekend, with 11 of the league’s 16 teams competing in their season opener. This is the ninth official season of the NRL with competition taking place in two conferences – an Eastern Conference consisting of 12 teams and a Western Conference consisting of four teams.

Lower Mainland Ringette League (LMRL) Thunder currently hold the NRL Championship title after downing the Montreal Mission 7-2 at the 2012 NRL Championship tournament final held in April 2012 in Burnaby, BC. This year’s NRL Championship tournament will be held in Fredericton, NB from March 31 to April 6, 2013.

“As the league enters its ninth season, we have many things to celebrate,” said Maurice Jean, NRL Chairman. “Our athletes are strong and they are committed to providing our fans with competitive and exciting games. We must also commend the large number of volunteers across the country who are working hard to put a quality product on the ice – without them our league wouldn’t enjoy the credibility is does today.”

As the league kicks off a new season, it also announces the pre-season Elite Eight rankings.

National Ringette League Elite Eight as of October 11, 2012:
Rank – (Ranking last month) – Team name – Conference
1 – (–) – LMRL Thunder – Western
2 – (–) – Montreal Mission – Eastern
3 – (–) – Cambridge Turbos – Eastern
4 – (–) – Prairie Fire (Winnipeg) – Western
5 – (–) – Ottawa Ice – Eastern
6 – (–) – Calgary RATH – Western
7 – (–) – Richmond Hill Lightning – Eastern
8 – (–) – Atlantic Attack – Eastern

A full schedule of games for the weekend, as well as results, stats and player profiles can be viewed on the NRL website at

The line-up of NRL teams for the 2012-2013 season is as follows:
Western Conference – Calgary RATH, Edmonton WAM!, Lower Mainland Ringette League Thunder and Prairie Fire (Winnipeg).
Eastern Conference – Red Division: Cambridge Turbos, Gatineau Fusion, Gloucester Devils, Ottawa Ice, Richmond Hill Lightning and Waterloo Wildfire; White Division: Atlantic Attack, Cyclones de Quebec, Lac St. Louis Adrenaline, Le Royal de Bourassa, Montreal Mission and Rive Sud Revolution.

Three NRL franchises will not be returning to league play this season. They include the Saskatoon Wild, the Manitoba Jets and the Whitby Wild.

About the National Ringette League
The National Ringette League (NRL) is the showcase league for ringette in Canada and strives to be the premiere women’s sports league in the country. The league has 16 teams participating in two conferences – a Western Conference with four teams and an Eastern Conference with 12 teams. The objectives of the NRL are to move ringette into the mainstream of Canadian sports activity, encourage greater public awareness of ringette, create more and better competitive opportunities for athletes, and achieve positive financial results at both a league and team level. For more information on the NRL, including schedules, team rosters and athlete profiles, please visit our website at