National Ringette League season gets underway on Saturday, league announces pre-season rankings

Ottawa, Ontario – September 25, 2014 – The 2014-2015 season of the National Ringette League (NRL) will hit the ice this coming weekend, with nine of the league’s 14 teams competing in their season opener. The league has also announced its pre-season Elite Eight rankings.

Ottawa Ice currently hold the NRL Championship title after downing the Cambridge Turbos 7-4 at the 2014 NRL Championship tournament final held in April 2014 in Regina, Saskatchewan. This year’s NRL Championship tournament will be held in Wood Buffalo, AB from March 29 to April 4, 2015.

This is the eleventh official season of the NRL with fourteen teams battling it out for NRL supremacy this year. BC Thunder, Edmonton WAM! and Calgary RATH will be competing in the Western Conference, while the Eastern Conference will see Cambridge Turbos, Gatineau Fusion, Gloucester Devils, Ottawa Ice, Richmond Hill Lightning and Waterloo Wildfire compete in the Red Division and Atlantic Attack, Lac St. Louis Adrenaline, Le Royal de Bourassa, Montreal Mission and Rive Sud Revolution will compete in the White Division.

“The past eleven years have seen the National Ringette League develop into a solid and reliable forum for this country’s best athletes to compete,” said Frances Losier, Director of High Performance with Ringette Canada. “Our teams are committed to providing fans with exciting and competitive games in communities across the country and we are very proud of the quality product that this league consistently puts on the ice.”

As the league kicks off a new season, it also announces the pre-season Elite Eight rankings.

National Ringette League Elite Eight as of September 25, 2014:
Rank – (Ranking last month) – Team name – Conference
1 – (–) – Ottawa Ice – Eastern
2 – (–) – Edmonton WAM! – Western
3 – (–) – Cambridge Turbos – Eastern
4 – (–) – Calgary RATH – Western
5 – (–) – Montreal Mission – Eastern
6 – (–) – Richmond Hill Lightning – Eastern
7 – (–) – Waterloo Wildfire – Eastern
8 – (–) – Gloucester Devils – Eastern

A full schedule of games for the weekend, as well as results, stats and player profiles can be viewed on the NRL website at

About the National Ringette League
The National Ringette League (NRL) is the showcase league for ringette in Canada and strives to be the premiere women’s sports league in the country. The league has 14 teams participating in two conferences – a Western Conference with three teams and an Eastern Conference with 11 teams. The objectives of the NRL are to move ringette into the mainstream of Canadian sports activity, encourage greater public awareness of ringette, create more and better competitive opportunities for athletes, and achieve positive financial results at both a league and team level. For more information on the NRL, including schedules, team rosters and athlete profiles, please visit our website at


For more information, please contact:
Alayne Martell
Media and PR – Ringette Canada/National Ringette League
Office: 613-748-5655, ext. 226
Cell: 902-308-1067