Ringette Canada announces athletes invited to Team Canada selection camp

Ottawa, Ontario – May 5, 2009 – Ringette Canada today announced the names of the athletes invited to attend the first Team Canada selection camp, which will be held from August 20-23, 2009 at the University of Guelph. Team Canada will participate in the next world ringette championship, which will be held in Finland in November 2010.

High performance athletes who have not been invited, but feel they have the skills and abilities to contribute to Team Canada’s success at the 2010 World Ringette Championship, may apply to tryout through a Wild Card Application process. Full details on the Wild Card Application process can be found on the Ringette Canada website at: http://www.ringette.ca/Content/Team%20Canada/Documents.asp?langid=1. Application forms must be received no later than May 15, 2009.
The team staff will hold a second selection camp in early 2010 and will announce the final Team Canada playing squad in May of 2010. Canada captured silver at the last world ringette championship after losing 5-4 in overtime to Finland. The event was held in Ottawa, Ontario in November 2007.
Invited athletes include:
Name (hometown) – 2008-2009 National Ringette League team
Barb Bautista (Edmonton, AB) – Edmonton WAM!
Julie Blanchette (Montreal, QC) – Montreal Mission
Keely Brown (Edmonton, AB) – Edmonton WAM!
Lindsay Burns (Starbuck, MB) – Prairie Fire
Amy Clarkson (St. Andrews, MB) – Manitoba Jets
Vanessa Cowlen (Cambridge, ON) – Cambridge Turbos
Allison Cronin (Calgary, AB) – Calgary RATH
Erin Cumpstone (Saskatoon, SK) – Saskatoon Wild
Stacey Cunningham (Port Perry, ON) – Cambridge Turbos
Josée Doiron (Moncton, NB)
Kailee Dundas (Calgary, AB) – Calgary RATH
Andrea Ferguson (Winnipeg, MB) – Prairie Fire
Julie Fleury-Roy (Ste-Julie, QC) – Cyclones de Quebec
Jacqueline Gaudet (Cambridge, ON) – Cambridge Turbos
Kerith Gordon (Halifax, NS)
Colleen Hagan (Manotick, ON) – Gloucester Devils
Jennifer Hartley (Balzac, AB) – Edmonton WAM!
Caitlyn Hellingman (Whitby, ON) – Ottawa Ice
Jackie Ho (Calgary, AB) – Calgary RATH
Abbey Hoes (Calgary, AB) – Calgary RATH
Beth Hurren (Pickering, ON) – Richmond Hill Lightning
Bryanna Kelly (Beamsville, ON) – Waterloo Wildfire
Janis Kelly (Pointe-Claire, QC) – Lac St. Louis
Jill Lange (Vancouver, BC) – BC Reign
Katie Lugg (Ottawa, ON) – Ottawa Ice
Sheena MacDonald (Stonewall, MB) – Prairie Fire
Michelle Mackay (Edmonton, AB)
Christina Mascherin (Mississauga, ON) – Cambridge Turbos
Bobbi Mattson (Calgary, AB) – Calgary RATH
Stefanie McArdle (Ottawa, ON)
Jenna McBride (Ottawa, ON) – Ottawa Ice
Stacey McNichol (Calgary, AB) – Calgary RATH
Kendra O’Brien (Souris, PEI)
Jessica Pepper (Laval, QC) – BLL
Ashley Peters (Cardiff Echoes, AB) – Edmonton WAM!
Meghan Pittaway (Cambridge, ON) – Cambridge Turbos
Julie Primard (St-Constant, QC) – Rive Sud Revolution
Dominique Privé (Cocagne, NB) – Rive Sud Revolution
Dallas Robbins (Calgary, AB) – Calgary RATH
Victoria Russell (Calgary, AB) – Calgary RATH
Stéphanie Séguin (Saint-Laurent, QC) – Montreal Mission
Karen Stafford (Cambridge, ON) – Cambridge Turbos
Melanie Thomas (West Vancouver, BC)
Jennifer Wakefield (Cambridge, ON) – Cambridge Turbos