Ringette Canada announces Team Canada playing roster

Ottawa, Ontario – May 25, 2010 – Ringette Canada today announced the 22 athletes who have been named to its senior national Team Canada playing roster. The announcement comes after the conclusion of a Team Canada training camp that was held in Ottawa, Ontario this past weekend (May 21-24).

The 22 athletes on the Team Canada playing roster will continue training for participation in the upcoming 2010 World ringette championship being held in Tampere, Finland from October 31 to November 6, 2010.

“The team staff are excited to have the opportunity in the coming months to work closely with a very talented and dedicated group of high performance athletes,” said Lyndsay Wheelans, Team Canada head coach. “The 2010 Canadian national ringette program has brought together veteran players with skilled newcomers to create a team that has both experience and energy. We are confident that this is a team capable of bringing a gold medal back to Canada.”

The 22 athletes chosen as members of the Team Canada playing roster include:

British Columbia
Jennifer Wakefield (Langley, BC)

Barb Bautista (Edmonton, AB)
Keely Brown (Edmonton, AB)
Kailee Dundas (Hussar, AB)
Jennifer Hartley (Balzac, AB)
Abbey Hoes (Calgary, AB)
Bobbi Mattson (Calgary, AB)
Ashley Peters (Cardiff Echoes, AB)
Dallas Robbins (Calgary, AB)
Victoria Russell (Calgary, AB)

Erin Cumpstone (Saskatoon, SK)

Lindsay Burns (Starbuck, MB)
Andrea Ferguson (Winnipeg, MB)

Vanessa Cowlen (Cambridge, ON)
Jacqueline Gaudet (Cambridge, ON)
Colleen Hagan (Manotick, ON)
Beth Hurren (Bowmanville, ON)
Katie Lugg (Ottawa, ON)
Jenna McBride (Ottawa, ON)
Meghan Pittaway (Cambridge, ON)

Julie Blanchette (Montreal, QC)
Stéphanie Séguin (Saint-Laurent, QC)

The playing squad of 22 is backed up by a group of athletes who will continue to train as members of the team in the event they are required to participate. These athletes include: Allison Cronin (Calgary, AB), Josée Doiron (Shediac-Cap-Pele, NB), Kerith Gordon (Halifax, NS), Jackie Ho (Calgary, AB), Sheena MacDonald (Stonewall, MB), Christina Mascherin (Mississauga, ON), Stacey McNichol (Calgary, AB), Jessica Pepper (Laval, QC), and Julie Primard (St-Constant, QC).

The Team Canada coaching staff consists of Toronto’s Lyndsay Wheelans as head coach, J. Jenson (Calgary, AB) and Julie Smith (Pointe-Claire, QC) as assistant coaches, and Tracey Tulloch (Bedford, NS) as team leader/manager.