The NRL returns to Manitoba


The National Ringette League announced today that it will expand to 16 teams for the 2016-17 season.

An ownership group out of Manitoba has been awarded a new team and will begin play out of the West Conference in the fall.

The return of the NRL to Manitoba was welcomed in a unanimous fashion when a poll was conducted amongst the team General Managers at the NRL annual meeting at the end of June.

With the departure of the Manitoba Jets in 2012 and Prairie Fire in 2013, Manitoba has been out of the NRL loop for 3 full seasons. But the success of the 2015 Canada Games Squad, a dedicated leadership team and an outpouring of support from the surrounding local associations and clubs, the League is confident that this team will see long-term success.

A team name, logo and uniform design will be made public over the summer.